Kirinyaga County is a county in the former Central Province of Kenya. Its capital is Kerugoya and its largest town is Wanguru.
In 2019, the county had a population of 610,411 and an area of 1,478.1 km2.
The county is bordered to the east and south by Embu County, to the south by a tiny part of Machakos County, to the southwest by Murang'a County and to the northwest by Nyeri County.
Kirinyaga county lies between 1158 and 5199 metres above sea level; its highest point is the summit of Mount Kenya.
Kirinyaga District was created in 1963 out of the western part of Embu District.
Kerugoya town was the district headquarters. The district commissioner was based in this town. In 2007, Kirinyaga District was divided into four new districts:

Administrative centres

Kirinyaga Central ____ Kerugoya
Kirinyaga East ______ Kianyaga
Kirinyaga South _________ Wanguru
Kirinyaga West ______Baricho.