Makueni County (formerly Makueni District) is a county in the former Eastern Province of Kenya. Its capital and largest town is wote.
The county has a population of 987,653 (2019 census).
The county lies between Latitude 1o 35 ́ and 32 00 ́ South and Longitude 37o10 ́ and 38o 30 ́ east. It borders Machakos to the North, Kitui to the East, Taita Taveta to the South and Kajiado to the West and covers an area of 8,008.9 km2.
Administrative and Political Units
Administrative Units:
There are 6 sub counties, 16 divisions, 63 locations and 127 sub-locations.