Trans Nzoia County is among the 47 counties established by the Kenya Constitution under article 6(1) and specified in the First Schedule. Article 176 (1) establishes a county government for each county consisting of the county assembly and the county executive. The Trans Nzoia county government was operationalized in March 2013 after the country’s general election with H.E Hon. Patrick Simiyu Khaemba as the first popularly elected Governor. Prior to the promulgation of the Kenya Constitution on the 27th August 2010, the present day Trans Nzoia County was administered as Trans Nzoia District under the Provincial Administration system. The district was established by the British colonial government in the early 20th century. With the promulgation of the Constitution, the Provincial system of administration was restructured as Kenya embraced a devolved system of governance